Tags

, , , ,

Here’s why I love talking to the parents of preschool children: I work in a high school. And our high school is rated among the best, but today at school I got a good dose of why the parents of preschoolers should take note. It matters how you treat your children or you may interrupt their ability to get an education. The children in our 10th grade English class seem so stressed from having to live their lives outside of school that they cannot accept the free education we are aiming in their direction in the classroom. I am a theme reader/writing coach and today a young lady I was assigned to work with refused my help. She refused it loudly and repeatedly and even made a scene declaring her unwillingness to be helped. She said she didn’t want anyone to know what her work looked like, and she was done already, anyway, and other such urgent proclamations. Apparently she often feels that circumstances in the classroom are the reason she cannot do her work. I didn’t hear everything she said because I was on to the next student, one who did want some help, but according to the teacher she owes me an apology.

Drama in the classroom just isn’t needed. I am so willing to help kids see the way to use words as a means of expressing, but for some it is a foreign concept I cannot educate them on in the brief moments we have together.

So, I get the impression that students like this girl have experiences at home or outside of school that teach them to reject help, and to fear learning, and to take for granted the opportunity to better themselves above their difficult circumstances. I get the impression some of these students reject all adults, categorically, based on what they have already learned about adults.

If you are a preschool parent reading this, consider the power of your role in your child’s life now, because the messages you send now have am everlasting effect on your children, and some, never quite trust adults again. Even the ones who are trying to give away something for free, like an education.

