Tags

, , , ,

Oh, all right, I’ll let other people be my mother instead, but I wanted Aunt Gretchen to keep doing that, not other people. Because she knew so much about me and where I come from and what it all means for me, and that my real mother wasn’t that able to do the job, and apparently that she’d be willing instead. At least for the past bunch of years.

See, it turns out that she has been the one who has helped me be me and I didn’t realize it so clearly while she was here. She is the one who encouraged me just by asking about my life, and reminding me of what I have done and where I have come from and what I can do. She is the one who had the perspective to press me forward quietly. She is the one who could do it best.

So, now I thank God for my children, and husband, and acquaintances and friends, who let me sit at their knee, sad, that she is gone. And who encourage me by being the evidence of my good intention, and by reminding me of where I have come from and what I can do. And who give me the perspective to press forward, quietly.

Oh, all right, I’ll let them, and anyone else who wants to encourage me to be me, be my mother instead.

