Tags

, , , , ,

When I see the pictures of grown sisters enjoying each other I think, “Huh, sure wish I had that.” Then I remember I do have a sister, but she’s far away, and not interested in my life or in sharing hers with me. I even have two brothers, but the same holds with them. I am sort of, practically, an only child despite being one of five. Apparently having close relationships with your siblings doesn’t just happen, you must make it happen, or someone must serve to nurture them or they don’t blossom into adult-worthy connections. It’s the same thing I realize about the relationship we have with our children. It doesn’t just happen. It doesn’t just happen that kids love their parents, and parents love their kids. It would be great if it was that easy. It seems natural to be that way, but these inherently likely relationships can become interrupted, and fail to flourish, unless someone is paying attention and making them happen. I know.

“Having a sister is like having a best friend you can’t get rid of. You know whatever you do, they’ll still be there.” ~Amy Li

When I read this on Lesley Carter’s blog I wanted it for myself I suppose, because for me it didn’t just happen magically like you might think it would.

