Tags

, , , , ,

There is a strength and a power in knowing who you are.

Today my teacher told me I am good at helping kids see what they are good at. She wants me to come in later this week to work with her AP students to help them assess themselves and figure out how they might improve on their own skills. In the classroom I try to help students do this because I know first hand it is not always evident to us, who we are. I love this idea because I think this is what we as parents, and teachers, and humans, should do for one another.

Ever since I first became a parent I have been reflecting back to my children their accomplishments and their actions to help them learn who they are. “Look how happy you are to see Daddy!” “What a good memory you have remembering that I asked you to put your clothes in the hamper.” “How fast you run on the field!” “I guess sweet potatoes don’t taste good to you.” “Seems like playing the cello is something you like but you don’t like the practicing.” “I see you are eating enough vegetables to grow taller!” I could go on with all the notes I’ve taken for my kids to help them see themselves more clearly. My aim is to help them decide for themselves what they like and don’t like, and what they want to embrace or what they want to change. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve said plenty of things I do not want to quote here, but the point remains that helping others see themselves is, in my mind, an act of love.

