Tags

, , , , ,

I once had an aunt whom I loved to see, Anne, a fascinating and cosmopolitan New York City lady. There was tragedy in her life and eventually she ran away from the family, years ago, shunning us all in favor of a more reclusive life. She lives alone in her studio apartment with a slew of animals, not having worked for decades, living off a trust her parent’s established for her when they broke off. Even though I have let her know I’d love to see her she has told me she must ‘feel better, look better and be better’ before she is up for a visit. Still I hold hope I’ll get to stop by her sometime before the end of her life.

In her honor, since she turns 79 this week, I am reading a story about seeing her in her apartment in New York when I was eight, from my memoir, You’ll Get Over It, Jane Ellen, at the Chester County Book Company on Monday, January 7 at 7:00pm. Members of the Brandywine Valley Writer’s Group will read ten minute selections from their work to all assembled. Since the bookstore is closing its doors shortly, this will be our last public reading in this venue. If you’d like to say goodbye to the shop and hear some entertaining speakers stop by to see us.

Hope to see you there.

